- What happens if you sink the cue ball?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What happens if you don’t hit any ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Where do you place the cue ball after a scratch?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Should you look at the cue ball or object ball?
- What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- Where do you aim on the cue ball?
- Can you move the white ball off the wall in pool?
- What ball goes on the dot in pool?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?
- Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
- Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
What happens if you sink the cue ball?
Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot..
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
What happens if you don’t hit any ball in pool?
3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Where do you place the cue ball after a scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Should you look at the cue ball or object ball?
Do my eyes look at the cue ball or the ball being hit at time of stroking (impact) the shot in play.” What should we be doing with our eyes as we shoot? The generally accepted wisdom here is that we should be looking at the object ball or rail target as we strike the CB.
What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball. 20.
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
Where do you aim on the cue ball?
The idea is to point the edge of your shaft at the desired contact point of the object ball. If you’re cutting to the right, use the right side of your shaft, and vice versa. The last shot, also shown to me by Oscar, is the thin cut.
Can you move the white ball off the wall in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: … If you scratch/foul during your turn, and the cue is closer to you than your opponent, you may opt take it out of a pocket or the ball return, especially if you happen to be closer to the cue.
What ball goes on the dot in pool?
Line the apex (the first ball) up with the middle diamond on the side of the pool table. The center of the first ball should be in the middle of the table at one quarter of the length. Some tables have this spot marked with a small dot. Make sure that the balls are tightly packed together.
Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?
A table scratch occurs when a player fails to hit an object ball with the cue ball. Meaning the cue ball can hit cushions but still be considered a foul if it doesn’t contact an object ball.
Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.