- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Can you scratch on the 8 ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
- What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
- Is not hitting the 8 ball a scratch?
- Does the ball count if you scratch in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- What’s considered a scratch in pool?
- Is scratching on break a loss?
- What are the rules for scratching in pool?
- Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching.
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black.
This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game..
Can you scratch on the 8 ball in pool?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
Is hitting three walls a scratch in pool?
If your opponent fouls in any way whilst still on their colours, you have ball in hand and can put the cue ball anywhere behind the break line. … I only know APA rules, but 3 rails and not touching any balls is a foul. Also, hitting your ball first then not touching a rail or not pocketing a ball is a foul.
What happens if you dont touch a ball in pool?
If, during the course of a shot, the cue ball does not touch anything. … The cue ball is always “LIVE” and if the cue ball or the hand holding or moving it touches another ball, it is a cue ball foul and your opponent will receive “ball in hand”. Be especially careful when you are placing the cue ball in a tight spot.
Is not hitting the 8 ball a scratch?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. 4.
Does the ball count if you scratch in pool?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What’s considered a scratch in pool?
The Definition of A Scratch In Pool A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. For most of the game, these actions are considered standard fouls and result in ball-in-hand for the opponent either on the entire table or behind the head string.
Is scratching on break a loss?
Scratch on break: It is a foul; incoming player has ball in hand behind the line. 8-ball on break: (House rule only) Player pocketing 8-ball on break, wins. If player pockets 8-ball and scratches, player does not lose, but the 8-ball is spotted and incoming player has ball behind the line.
What are the rules for scratching in pool?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul.
Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK. If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see rule 9), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.