- Can you combo off someone else’s ball in pool?
- What happens if the cue ball goes in?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- Does the break count in pool?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- Does a ball have to hit the cushion in pool?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
- Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
- What happens if you hit the opponents ball first in Pool?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is there 2 shots on the black ball?
Can you combo off someone else’s ball in pool?
Combination Shots In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first..
What happens if the cue ball goes in?
Balls must remain in a pocket to count as pocketed. If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
Does the break count in pool?
The player who breaks must strike the rack with the cue ball. Otherwise, the break becomes illegal and the turn switches to the opponent. Any balls pocketed on the break remain pocketed. If during a break the player pockets a ball, other than the 8-ball or cue ball, the same turn continues.
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
Pocketing the Cue Ball In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.
Does a ball have to hit the cushion in pool?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
Should a player fail to pocket his designated group ball, he shall lose his turn. 3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
(Refer to rule 2.21) When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, it remains in hand (not in play) until the player strikes the cue ball with his cue tip. The cue ball may be adjusted by the player’s hand, cue, etc., so long as it remains in hand.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
A table scratch occurs when a player fails to hit an object ball with the cue ball. Meaning the cue ball can hit cushions but still be considered a foul if it doesn’t contact an object ball.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.
Can you shoot backwards in 8 ball pool?
If you pot the nominated ball (except the black ball) it’s deemed legal and you continue with the break. … But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
But, in professional leagues, if you sink the white ball while the 8-ball is still in play then you still have a chance and all hope is not lost. This would count as a regular foul and your opponent will get a ball in hand. Still, even this is not a chance you’d like to take on your winning shot!
What happens if you hit the opponents ball first in Pool?
lf the latter method of safety is chosen the player should be sure to obviously strike the object ball first. If the cue strikes first or appears to hit both the rail and the ball simultaneously, it is a foul unless either the cue ball or object ball went to some other rail.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is there 2 shots on the black ball?
Do I have two shots on the black ball? With blackball you get 2 shots (or 1 free shot) after your foul, so after having already played your free shot you only have 1 shot remaining on the black ball.